What is the IPC?

The International Primary Curriculum (IPC) is a comprehensive, thematic, creative curriculum for 3-11 year olds, with a clear process of learning and with specific learning goals for every subject, for international mindedness and for personal learning.
At St Andrew’s CE Primary School, we follow the IPC in Years 1 to 6.
This curriculum covers subject areas such as:


  • History
  • Geography
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Computing
  • Music
  • Drama
  • Art
  • International/Society

The IPC was chosen as a curriculum to ensure rigorous learning but also to help teachers make all learning exciting, active and meaningful for children. The IPC takes a global approach to learning; helping children to connect their learning to where they are living now as well as looking at the learning from the perspective of other people in other countries. Each year group is taught five or six ‘units’ which offer a broad and balanced curriculum.

The units offer exciting and genuine opportunities for enquiry-based learning, through a systematic cycle of learning. Parents are actively involved in each unit; either at the Entry Point stage or the Exit Point, which involves the children demonstrating their knowledge, skills and understanding. The programme of study for the IPC units is in line with the new National Curriculum requirements for the subjects listed above. Assessment for Learning opportunities are evident in the planning stages for each unit.


y2 gardening. Trade Fair 1 Areas of learning - IPC